Mary Caroline Page is born on August 6 in Pagetown, Ohio. As a small girl she adopts
the name Myrtle. She wants to be a schoolteacher when she grows up so that she can teach children to make the world a better
Charles Sherlock Fillmore is born on August 22 in St. Cloud, Minnesota. He grows up
curious about many things. He reads classic authors like Shakespeare, Tennyson, Emerson, and Lowell. He works hard as a printer’s
helper and later as a grocery clerk and in a bank. Then he moves to Texas and works with the railroad.
Myrtle goes to Oberlin College in Ohio to study the "Literary Course for Ladies." After
graduation, she moves to Texas to be a schoolteacher.
Charles meets Myrtle in Texas, and they marry in 1881. In 1884 the Fillmores move
to Kansas City, Missouri. Charles sells real estate.
Myrtle becomes very ill. She thinks there is nothing she can do about it, because
she has been sick since she was a little girl. Charles and Myrtle go to a class taught by Dr. Eugene B. Weeks. Myrtle leaves
this talk with a stronger faith in God and a new way to pray. She says, "I am a child of God, and therefore I do not inherit
sickness." When she says this, she believes she is going to get better.
Within two years, Myrtle does get better. Her family and friends are excited, and they start praying too. Charles continues
studying world religions and philosophies. He also studies the link between religion and science. Charles and Myrtle start
writing about their beliefs, and shortly thereafter Unity is born.
In April the Fillmores publish the first issue of Modern Thought, a national
monthly magazine devoted to spiritual questions. The magazine’s name is changed to Unity Magazine in 1894.
The Fillmores use their magazine to tell people about the Society of Silent Help (renamed
Society of Silent Unity in 1891). Myrtle tells readers that the work of the Society of Silent Help is “open to everyone.”
Charles chooses Unity as the name for the movement they are founding.
Myrtle starts Wee Wisdom, a monthly magazine for children, and remains editor
for many years. When it is discontinued in 1991, Wee Wisdom is the oldest continuously published children’s
magazine in the country.
Lessons in Truth by H. Emilie Cady is published as the first Unity book. Over
the years it is translated into 11 languages, is published in braille, and sells more than 1.6 million copies.
The Unity Society of Practical Christianity is incorporated as the first Unity church.
The Fillmores start Unity School of Christianity to handle their publishing and educational
work. Unity Society of Practical Christianity continues the church functions of Unity.
The first 58 acres of the present Unity Village site are bought in eastern Jackson
County, Missouri. Other buildings are planned, but construction stops during the Great Depression and World War II.
Unity becomes a pioneer in radio broadcasting. Charles gives his first Unity lesson
over radio on station WOQ. This has been documented to be the first radio presentation by a clergyman in Kansas City, Missouri.
The first issue of Unity Daily Word (renamed Daily Word in 1939)
is published in July. Frank Whitney is the first editor.
Unity buys the land where Unity Temple on the Plaza will be built (1948). Charles Fillmore
blesses the site at a groundbreaking ceremony.
The 165-foot-tall Tower and the Silent Unity building (later known as the Education
building) are constructed at Unity Village. The Tower contains a 100,000-gallon water tank that provides fresh water. The
Tower also houses a carillon that chimes music at different times of the day. In 1989 these buildings are put on the National
Register of Historic Places.
Myrtle Fillmore makes her transition. She is 86 years old. People call her the “Mother
of Unity.” She saved many of the letters she received, as well as her responses, which are about the healing power
of prayer. Her beliefs are the foundation of Unity today.
Charles retires from the pulpit of Unity Society of Practical Christianity. He continues
as president of Unity School of Christianity. Charles marries his second wife, Cora Dedrick. During the next 10 years he spends
a lot of time traveling and speaking to groups of people.
The Heritage Room library opens (renamed Unity Library and Archives in 1997).
The Library remains open to the public today and houses one of the world’s largest metaphysical collections.
The Printing Department moves from Kansas City to Unity Farm, near Lee’s
Unity School moves from downtown Kansas City to Unity Farm (renamed Unity
Village in 1953). Orchards with apples and peaches are grown, and there are vineyards and a dairy. People from all over Kansas
City come to Unity Farm to buy fresh vegetables and milk.
Charles Fillmore makes his transition. He is 94 years old. His son Lowell
becomes Unity School’s president.
The first spiritual retreat is held at Unity Village. Today there are about
a dozen retreats a year that adults can come to, including Spanish-language retreats.
Unity’s Rose Garden is planted.
Today the garden has 800 bushes, with nearly 50 different kinds of roses.
Wee Wisdom School, a Montessori preschool, is established. Its name
comes from the children’s magazine of Unity, Wee Wisdom. Although Unity School’s preschool closes
in 1982, many Unity churches still have Wee Wisdom Montessori preschools today.
Unity Village is incorporated as a municipality in Missouri. Unity’s
first television program, The Daily Word, is started by Rosemary Fillmore Rhea, the granddaughter of Charles and
The Department of World Unity begins. It works with other Unity ministers and ministries
in other countries around the world. The Association of Unity Churches is officially organized. It supports other Unity ministers
and ministries in the United States, Puerto Rico, and Canada.
The Unity Institute for Continuing Education (renamed Unity School for Religious Studies
in 1980) is established to provide classes in spirituality for adults.
The Word makes its first appearance on television. Many people see these programs,
which present celebrities reading Daily Word. The programs stop in 1992.
The Unity Visitors Center staff begins giving free tours of Unity Village.
Unity celebrates its centennial. The Unity School of Christianity Historical District
is placed on the National Register of Historic Places. Connie Fillmore Bazzy, Unity School’s president, opens a new
Silent Unity building so the work can grow.
A Spanish-language Continuing Education Program is started. People who speak Spanish
come to Unity Village from all over the world to study the Bible and other spiritual subjects.
Unity’s first World Day of Prayer is organized. On Unity’s World Day of
Prayer, more people contact Silent Unity for prayer than at any other time. Unity’s World Day of Prayer is on the second
Thursday in September each year.
The first Unity World Conference is held in Birmingham, England. People from around
the world attend to learn about Unity’s work.
Silent Unity, one of the oldest 24-hour prayer ministries in the United States, answers
a record-breaking number of prayer requests ... two million.
The second Unity World Conference is held in Acapulco, Mexico.
its new labyrinth--a spiritual tool for meditation. It is patterned after the famous medieval labyrinth that was carved into
the stone floor of Chartres Cathedral in France around 1200 A.D. The labyrinth at Unity is open to the public during daylight
hours and is designed to accommodate wheelchairs.
Seventy-fifth anniversary of Daily Word Magazine.
Tom Zender succeeds Connie Fillmore Bazzy as president and chief executive officer of Unity. Connie succeeds Charles
R. Fillmore as chairperson of the Board, and Charles becomes chairperson emeritus. The responsibility for Unity’s International
ministries is transferred from Unity to the Association of Unity Churches.
The first meeting of Unity’s new Board of Directors is held. The Board is restructured to consist solely
of members not currently employed by Unity.
USRS is reorganized and renamed Unity Institute. Unity expands its Web ministry, including a Spanish version. Unity’s
poet laureate, James Dillet Freeman makes his transition.
Unity participates in the Parliament of the World’s Religions in Barcelona, Spain, and presents a panel discussion
on affirmative prayer, facilitated by Dr. Deepak Chopra. There, Unity announces the formation of the Office of Prayer Research,
an initiative to gather and promote scientific and medical research about the effects of prayer. Angels Sing in Me: The
James Dillet Freeman Memorial Book is published.
The online community of dailyword.com is launched. The Bridge of Faith rebuilding begins, and the bridge
reopens with a dedication ceremony September 28, 2005. The lobby of the landmark Tower reopens with historical displays. For
the first time in more than 20 years, the lobby opens to tours for guests and employees. A special Unity Congress convens
to promote renewed vigor of collaborative planning and work between Unity, the Association of Unity Churches International,
and field ministries. Rev. James Trapp is named new CEO of the Association of Unity Churches International. Glenn Mosley retires.
Groundbreaking is held for the new Hotel and Conference Center (also known as the Spiritual Life Center).
Charlotte Shelton becomes President and CEO of Unity. Tom Zender is named president ex officio with a February
2007 retirement planned. Daily Word begins publication in China and now is printed in eight languages. The historic Unity
Village Amphitheater is restored and reopened with a series of summer concerts. Unity Inn celebrated its 100th anniversary.
The Inn is the third-oldest Kansas City-area restaurant. Unity hosts the annual Lee’s Summit Chamber of Commerce Oktoberfest
celebration, bringing over 35,000 people to Unity Village. The Hotel and Conference Center opens with A New Day Dawning retreat
An expanded Bookstore and new coffee shop opens. The Hotel and Conference Center (also known as the Spiritual Life
Center) becomes only the fourth LEED-certified hotel in the country for its environmental aspects. LEED stands for Leadership
in Energy and Evnironmental Design.